Right. But that's how Gmail is marketing it. "Undo send" gives you the impression that Gmail is reaching through the tubes and yanking your message back for you, but in reality it's just cancelling a launch that didn't happen yet.
You're right that it's not a "real" undo, but it is better than a warning with timeout; on a warning, it demands that you click (habitual action) after which there's no going back, but with this system it demands nothing, the message stays up, and you click (non-habitual action) only when you want to cancel.