Hacker Newsnew | past | comments | ask | show | jobs | submitlogin

So it's a config setting you can change? What would you expect them to fix, that sounds like a feature?


Some CLI startup paths don't load the config, use the 30 day default. Boom, your chats are gone.

Imagine taking a leave, come back in 30 days, boom. Your transcripts are rm'd, silently, without any notification or confirmations.

Bonus: setting it to 0 days rms everything immediately


There's nothing in claude code onboarding that tells you about this config setting. So most people don't discover it until it's bitten them.


Well they want the default to change. But yeah, it’s not really a bug.


It says that raising the config setting still causes things to be inappropriately deleted.




Guidelines | FAQ | Lists | API | Security | Legal | Apply to YC | Contact

Search: